My Get Healthy Journey

timetogethealthy

It’s been a few years since I really looked at my weight or thought about my health.  As days go by and my wife always making fun of my age by calling me an “old man,” I decided last night that I was going to go on a diet and start a daily exercise routine to get back in shape.  Not to sound like I’m bragging or anything but I’ve been somewhat blessed with a body frame that will not go over a certain weight.  Over the past couple of years I’ve been pretty much eating what I wanted when I wanted and haven’t gained much more than the daily 1-2 pounds but have also lost the 1-2 pounds the day after I gained it.  I definitely know that my metabolism has slowed but my body can drop 10-15 pounds comfortably in 2-3 weeks with just a mild change in diet and little exercise.  One thing that does help me out a ton during a diet is that I don’t have an addictive personality.  I can drop things like bad eating habits as fast as you can snap your fingers.  So follow this blog post for my journey and to see how I drop weight.  But also look for updates on the front page of my blog as I will also do random check ins during my “get healthy” journey.

Wish me luck.

January 14, 2014: 

– At 12:15 AM I stepped on the scale and I weighed in at 177.6 lbs.  I started my diet like I did a few years ago by drinking an “Organic Smooth Move” laxative tea before I went to bed.  This is a great way to start internally with drinking this tea as its basic function is to clean you out.  It also is great for water retention.  Just a word of advice though…make sure you don’t have a lot of plans after drinking this tea as you will find yourself in the bathroom a lot when it kicks in.

– At 8:00 AM I weighed myself immediately after waking up and weighed in at 175.9 lbs.  I ate a healthy breakfast burrito and an iced coffee to start the day.

11414

– At 1:45 PM I ate a Healthy Choice Top Chef Grilled Chicken Marinara with Parmesan, 1 hard boiled egg and 1 packet of Crystal Light Peach Mango Energy mix with water.  When on a diet, I like to keep my biggest meal of the day for lunch.  It just makes the most sense to me.  It lets my system have a good amount of time to properly digest a bigger meal in  time for an afternoon snack before working out at the gym.  I love the Healthy Choice Top Chef product line.  Calories are low for a good size portion of food.  Plus, they’re pretty tasty too.

11414snack

– At 4:15 PM I ate a small tupperware full of a pomegranate (about half of a pomegranate) as an afternoon snack to get me through to dinner.  Good energy and antioxidant source.

Leave a Reply

